‘Queer Eye’ Co-Hosts, ‘me too.’ Movement Founder, ‘Selma’ Director and More at 2019 Free Expression Awards

Senator Mark Warner, FEA 2018

Senator Mark Warner delivers remarks at the 2018 Free Expression Awards.

Today, the Freedom Forum Institute and Newseum announced the award recipients of the fourth annual Free Expression Awards. The Free Expression Awards convene thought leaders, policymakers and philanthropists to recognize individuals for their courageous acts of, and contributions to, free and fearless expression. These influential supporters of the First Amendment work tirelessly to enhance free speech, freedom of the press, religious freedom and freedom in the arts and entertainment.

The 2019 honorees are:

  • Founder of the ‘me too.’ movement Tarana Burke;
  • Academy Award nominee and Emmy, BAFTA and Peabody Award winner Ava DuVernay;
  • CBS News foreign correspondents Elizabeth Palmer, Debora Patta and Holly Williams;
  • Bobby Berk, Karamo Brown, Tan France, Antoni Porowski and Jonathan Van Ness, who together co-host the popular Netflix television series, “Queer Eye;”
  • Judy Woodruff, anchor and managing editor of “PBS NewsHour.”

The award recipients will be honored at a special awards dinner and reception at the Newseum on Thursday, April 4, 2019. The event will be hosted by Katie Couric, award-winning journalist, Stand Up to Cancer (SU2C) co-founder and New York Times best-selling author, along with members of the event’s honorary host and steering committees.

A limited number of individual tickets are now on sale. Sponsorship opportunities are also available. For information on sponsorship levels and benefits, please visit our website or contact Elizabeth Dickson at [email protected] or 202/292-6371.

Last year’s Free Expression Awards honored Arthur Sulzberger Jr., The New York Times Company chairman and former publisher of The New York Times; 1968 Olympic medalists and human rights activists Dr. John Carlos and Dr. Tommie C. Smith; and 13 journalists from four news publications who uncovered sexual misconduct in the workplace.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *