Chips Watch: The Latest Alumni News

What better way to start the new year than with a Chips Watch? Read all about the latest CQS alumni happenings.

Tyler Davis (Summer 2015) is a reporter for The Des Moines Register in Iowa, covering crime and breaking news. Previously he was a producer, focusing on sports.

New jobs
Danese Kenon (Fall 2000) is visuals editor for The Philadelphia Inquirer. Previously she was deputy director of photography for video and multimedia at the Tampa Bay Times in St. Petersburg, Fla.

Mara Lopez, CQS, Chips Watch

Mara Lopez (Summer 2018)

Erik Ortiz (Spring 2002) is a staff writer at NBCNews. Previously he was a multimedia reporter at the New York Daily News.

Marie Estrada (Summer 2013) is a digital producer for KXTV-ABC10 in Sacramento, Calif. Previously she was a social media news producer for KGTV-ABC10 News in San Diego.

Mara Lopez (Summer 2018) is operations technician at WTEN News 10 ABC/Fox 23 in Albany, N.Y. Previously she was an intern at The Commercial Appeal in Memphis, Tenn. She graduated from the University of Texas, Arlington, in May.

Jay Shah (Summer 2018) is Long Island bureau chief for WSHU, the NPR affiliate based in Westport, Conn. He graduated from Stony Brook University in May and was an intern last summer at WPLN/Nashville Public Radio in Tennessee.

Melissa Gomez (Summer 2017) is a Metpro reporting fellow for the Los Angeles Times. Previously she was an intern at The New York Times.

Gabriel Ware (Summer 2017) is an intern at ABC News in New York City. Previously he was an intern at YES! Magazine.

Professional development
CQS, Tanglao, VilleneuveLeezel Tanglao(Summer 2003), left, and Marina Villeneuve (Summer 2012) attended the Journalism and Women Symposium’s (JAWS’) annual Conference and Mentoring Project (CAMP) for training, networking and professional development, in Welches, Ore., in October. Leezel, a New York-based consultant, is a JAWS 2018 Next Step Fellow, and Marina, who covers Maine politics and state government for The Associated Press, served as a JAWS board member and diversity committee chair.

Frank Bi (Summer 2012), storytelling engineer for Vox Media’s SB Nation, has been elected vice president of journalism programs for the Asian American Journalists Association. Frank has also served as AAJA’s national convention programming chair for the last two years.

Shondiin Silversmith (Spring 2015) served on a panel in December at Northern Arizona University that addressed media, environmental and social justice issues in indigenous communities. She is a homepage producer for The Arizona Republic.

Tailyr Irvine (Summer 2018) returned to her middle school, Ronan Middle School, in Ronan, Mont., in November to talk to sixth-graders about accurate images of Native Americans. She is a photographer for the Tampa Bay Times.

In the news
Two Chipsters recently offered their views on newsroom diversity. Al Dia interviewed Martin Reynolds (Summer 1995) and other diversity experts for a story published in December about how to ensure that newsrooms reflect the diversity of the communities they serve. In November, Journalism Diversity Project co-founder Emma Carew Grovum (Summer 2009) posted an essay on her website with this message to newsroom hiring managers: “You can no longer say you don’t know what to do to increase diversity on your staff.”

Other news
Jordan Dresser (Summer 2006) is the curator of a permanent display on the heritage of the Arapaho people that is part of the “Boulder Experience” exhibit at the Museum of Boulder in Colorado. Jordan is the collections manager for the Northern Arapaho Tribal Historic Preservation Office in Riverton, Wyo.

Danielle Urbina (Summer 2012) is a senior editor with Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. Previously she was editor of Su Casa magazine in El Paso, Texas. “I’m very excited to continue my career with Texas Tech and am so grateful to the Chips Quinn program for helping me get to this point — even six years later everything I learned is still so valuable to me,” Danielle says.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *