Chipsters at 2018 NABJ and AAJA

Round II of the summer journalism conventions: Many Chipsters participate in the annual conferences of the national journalists associations – by attending, serving as speakers and panelists, standing for election as association officers, mentoring student journalists and receiving recognition for their work. Here’s what we know about CQS outreach at the conventions in August of the National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) in Detroit and the Asian American Journalists Association (AAJA) in Houston.

Simone Weichselbaum (Summer 2001) and Akeem Glaspie (Summer 2013)

Simone Weichselbaum (Summer 2001), staff writer and diversity chair for The Marshall Project, moderated a panel on “Data Reporting: The Ultimate Lie Detector” and was the moderator and a panelist for “Investigate Like a Boss: Editors Explain How to Bulletproof Your Work.”

Bowdeya Tweh (Summer 2007), spot news editor for The Wall Street Journal, was a member of the panel “How Journalists, Parents and Educators Can Fight ‘Fake News.’”

Monica Herndon (Summer 2014), a multimedia photojournalist for the Tampa Bay Times, was a panelist who discussed “Visual Journalism 101: Back to the Basics.”

Student project  
Two Tampa Bay Times photojournalists, Herndon and Danese Kenon (Fall 2000), deputy director of photography for video and multimedia, served as mentors for the Student Multimedia Project.

Leadership and recognition
Gregory Lee Jr. (Summer 1995), editorial director of and a former NABJ president, received the inaugural NABJ Sports Task Force Service Award.

Khorri Atkinson (Summer 2016), a reporter for Axios, was elected to the national NABJ Board of Directors as parliamentarian.

Zuri Berry (right) and Khristopher Brooks (Summer 2006)

Zuri Berry (Summer 2006), managing editor for news and digital for Charlotte, N.C.’s NPR station, WFAE, was an NABJ awards finalist in the online project news category for digital media for “One Year Later: Anniversary of the Keith Lamont Scott Shooting and Protests.”

Nicole Dungca (Summer 2007), a reporter with The Boston Globe’s Spotlight Team, was part of the team that won an NABJ award in the special project category for newspapers with a circulation greater than 150,000 for the series “Boston. Racism. Image. Reality.”

Sharon Nunn (Summer 2017), a reporter for the Wall Street Journal, was an NABJ awards finalist in the business category for newspapers with circulation greater than 150,000 for “As Black-Owned Banks Struggle, Community Sounds Alarm.”

Asia Simone Burns (Summer 2018), an intern at the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, received a scholarship from the Ida B. Wells Society for Investigative Reporting to attend the convention.

Leezel Tanglao (Summer 2003), who recently formed the media consulting company StatFury, was a speaker for the Gannett Executive Salon.

Donna Tam (Summer 2005), senior project manager for American Public Media’s “Marketplace,” spoke at The Wall Street Journal Executive Salon.

Adam Kealoha Causey (Spring 2006), administrative correspondent for The Associated Press in Oklahoma City, addressed the topic “Underrepresented in the API Sphere.”

Frank Shyong (Spring 2012)

Mariecar Mendoza (Spring 2007), arts content editor for the San Francisco Chronicle, and Frank Shyong (Spring 2012), reporter for the Los Angeles Times, spoke on “The Art of Criticism.”

Nicole Dungca (Summer 2007), a reporter with The Boston Globe’s Spotlight Team, and Sally Ho (Summer 2008), a reporter with The Associated Press’ national education beat team, were panelists who discussed “How I Got the Story.”

Frank Bi (Summer 2012), storytelling engineer for Vox Media, spoke about “Utilizing Free Web Tools to Empower Your Reporting.”

Student project  
Mentors for the student project Voices included Shyong and Brian Nguyen (Summer 2015), manager of media production and emerging platforms at The Tylt. Salgu Wissmath (Summer 2018), a photographer at The Courier-Journal in Louisville, Ky, participated as a student.

Leezel Tanglao (Summer 2003)

Leadership and recognition
Tanglao was named AAJA Member of the Year, an award she shared with AAJA member Kris Vera-Phillips.

Dungca continues in her position as AAJA vice president of communications/secretary through 2019.

Vivian Ho (Spring 2012) won the AAJA National Journalism Award for General Excellence in the written journalism category for “A Life on the Line,” published by the San Francisco Chronicle.

Sally Ho was a finalist in AAJA’s Story Slam contest, in which journalist members highlight their best personal stories, for her entry “Yongbae.”

Andy Tsubasa Field (Summer 2018), an intern at The Tennessean in Nashville, received a 2018 ProPublica Diversity Scholarship to attend the convention.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *